« 1966 | Main | 1964 »


The Far Field

By Theodore Roethke

Original Publisher: Doubleday 
Current Publisher: Out of Print

Theodore Roethke first won the National Book Award in Poetry in 1959 for Words for the Wind.

An appreciation of Roethke’s work may be found here >

Poetry Finalists that Year:

  • Ben Belitt for The Enemy Joy
  • John Berryman for 77 Dream Songs
  • James Dickey for Helmets
  • Jean Garrigue for Country Without Maps
  • Galway Kinnell for Flower Herding on Mount Monadnock
  • Robert Lowell for For the Union Dead
  • William Meredith for The Wreck of the Thresher

Poetry Judges that Year: Howard Moss, May Swenson,
Allen Tate

The Year in Literature:

  • 77 Dream Songs by John Berryman won the Pulitzer Prize for poetry.
  • Stephen Spender was named Consultant in Poetry for the United States.

Other Information: 

  • Theodore Roethke (1908-1963) was born in Saginaw, MI.
  • Roethke died two years before he received the National Book Award for The Far Field. 

Suggested Links:

Buy the Book:


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

References (7)

References allow you to track sources for this article, as well as articles that were written in response to this article.

Reader Comments (3)

You have got a real capacity for writing specific content material. i really like how you observed and the way you constitute your views in this article. I consider your way of wondering. thanks for sharing.garry"s mod free play online

The business identities are nowadays flocking to get websites published, registered and hosted on the internet. Seeing to the exponential demand, the marker is witnessing mushrooming of a number of website design and development companies.casual shoes

April 10, 2018 | Unregistered Commentercasual shoes

When purchasing olive leaf extract, it is important to buy from a reputable company as the processing of the plant must be done carefully to ensure that the extract is potent and effective. click here

April 23, 2018 | Unregistered CommenterLola

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>